Menu Close

Massage Therapy Employers MUST BE LICENSED in the State of NJ


Did you know that it is the law for massage therapy employers to be licensed as a Massage Therapy Employer in the State of NJ? It is part of our Massage Law, and it is a shame so many employers do not know about this Law in our State. It is $150 every biennial renewal period ($75 per year – peanuts!) and it takes a very short amount of time to register with the NJBMBT. It is essential that we all elevate our profession as our profession evolves and massage therapy becomes a more integral part of the medical profession. It is also part of the law that massage therapists have a “duty to report” anything that is contrary to our laws, and though I am not inclined to do that for all our wonderful Professional massage clinics, spas and wellness centers, we must remember that – sadly – there is a human trafficking ring operating in our state using our profession as a front for prostitution which is despicable and a sin! Those should be reported.

Our profession must band together to not only elevate the beautiful profession of massage, but also work to eliminate the unlawful businesses using our profession to front criminal activity. We must also pray for those women held hostage in those situations. Report them to the Board if you are aware of any of those business, for sure.

Anyone else who owns or runs a professional massage spa, clinic or wellness center employing LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS ONLY (NOT LICENSE PENDING, WHICH IS ALSO AGAINST THE LAW) should be licensed. Here is the information, please read and share with every professional massage therapist you know. Lets grow and elevate our profession together.

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPIST EMPLOYER REGISTRATION

This is for individuals or entities that employ another person to engage in, or that employ another and advertise or hold themselves out as providing, massage and bodywork therapy. Individuals or entities will not need to obtain employer registration if they are health care institutions licensed by the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, or are schools approved by the New Jersey Department of Education, the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, or the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education.

Be advised, in accordance with NJSA 45:11-76 and NJAC 13:37A-6.1 (c) (5), a registration is required to submit proof of professional liability insurance.

In order to apply and renew your business registration, you must provide proof of coverage by a professional liability insurance policy in a minimum amount of $1,000,000.00 per occurrence and $3,000,000.00 aggregate per policy year.

Related Posts